DNA Molecules

Initiative in Social Genomics

The Initiative in Social Genomics is one of six successful proposals in the first round of Cluster Hires at the University of Wisconsin–Madison. The aim is for UW to become home to the largest and most innovative group of researchers pursuing topics in Social Genomics in the world. The Initiative in Social Genomics is one example of efforts being made on campus to expand research into genomics. Additionally, in the fall of 2018, the University also opened the Center for Human Genomics and Precision Medicine.

As part of the new Cluster Hiring Initiative in Social Genomics, an interdisciplinary group of scholars looked to hire three new tenure-track faculty members, all with appointments in relevant home departments, with expertise and interests in Social Genomics, defined as a field of research that integrates theories, data, and methods across the social, health, and genetic sciences.

These areas of interest were broadly characterized in three tenure-track faculty searches in Social Genomics. Lauren Schmitz joined UW in fall 2019 for the “Gene-Environment Interplay and/or Epigenetics” position. This September, UW welcomes Philipp Koellinger and Sam Trejo to fill the “Computational Approaches to Social Genomics” and “Implications of Social Genomics for Social and Public Policy” positions, respectively.

Social Genomics: Faculty

Corinne D. Engelman

Associate Professor, Population Health Sciences

cengelman@wisc.edu

Research Interests

Aging and the Life Course, Impacts of Place on Aging Processes, and Understanding Alzheimer’s Disease

Jason Fletcher

Professor, Public Affairs and Sociology

jason.fletcher@wisc.edu

Research Interests

Aging and the Life Course, Biodemography, Determinants of Disparities of Aging Trajectories, Health Economics and Health Services Research, and Impacts of Place on Aging Processes

Hyunseung Kang

Assistant Professor, Statistics

hyunseung@stat.wisc.edu

Research interests

Biodemography, Health Economics and Health Services Research, and Understanding Alzheimer’s Disease

Philipp Koellinger

Professor, Public Affairs

koellinger@wisc.edu

Research Interests

Biodemography, Determinants of Disparities of Aging Trajectories

 

James Li

Assistant Professor, Psychology

james.li@wisc.edu

Research Interests

Developmental Trajectories of Mental Illness, Neurodevelopmental Disorders (Autism and ADHD), and Gene-Environment Interactions

https://psych.wisc.edu/staff/li-james-j/

Qiongshi Lu

Assistant Professor, Biostatistics & Medical Informatics

qlu@biostat.wisc.edu

Research Interests

Biodemography

Lauren Schmitz

Assistant Professor, Public Affairs

llschmitz@wisc.edu

Research Interests

Biodemography, Health Economics and Health Services Research

https://www.lafollette.wisc.edu/faculty-staff/faculty/lauren-schmitz

Sam Trejo

Assistant Professor, Public Affairs and Sociology

sam.trejo@wisc.edu

Research Interests

Biodemography, Impacts of Place on Aging Processes

Social Genomics: Postdocs and Students

Joseph Clark

Postdoctoral Researcher

jclark36@wisc.edu

Shiro Furuya

Graduate Student, Sociology

furuya2@wisc.edu

Julia Goodwin

Graduate Student, Sociology

jkgoodwin@wisc.edu

Quanfa “Frank” He

Graduate Student, Clinical Psychology

qhe37@wisc.edu

Jiacheng Miao

VISP Graduate Student, Statistics

jmiao24@wisc.edu

Eva Vasiljevic

Graduate Student, Population Health Sciences

vasiljevic@wisc.edu

Yuchang Wu

Postdoctoral Researcher, Statistical Genetics

ywu423@wisc.edu

Yuexuan Xu

Graduate Student, Population Health Sciences

yuexuan.xu@wisc.edu

Zijie Zhao

Graduate Student, Biomedical Data Science

zzhao232@wisc.edu

Boyan Zheng

Graduate Student, Sociology

bzheng9@wisc.edu

Xiaoyuan (Ethan) Zhong

Graduate Student, Mathematics and Economics

xzhong35@wisc.edu

Social Genomics: Selected Publications