DNA Molecules

Initiative in Social Genomics

The Initiative in Social Genomics is one of six successful proposals in the first round of Cluster Hires at the University of Wisconsin–Madison. The aim is for UW to become home to the largest and most innovative group of researchers pursuing topics in Social Genomics in the world. The Initiative in Social Genomics is one example of efforts being made on campus to expand research into genomics. Additionally, in the fall of 2018, the University also opened the Center for Human Genomics and Precision Medicine.

As part of the new Cluster Hiring Initiative in Social Genomics, an interdisciplinary group of scholars looked to hire three new tenure-track faculty members, all with appointments in relevant home departments, with expertise and interests in Social Genomics, defined as a field of research that integrates theories, data, and methods across the social, health, and genetic sciences.

These areas of interest were broadly characterized in three tenure-track faculty searches in Social Genomics. Lauren Schmitz joined UW in fall 2019 for the “Gene-Environment Interplay and/or Epigenetics” position. This September, UW welcomes Philipp Koellinger and Sam Trejo to fill the “Computational Approaches to Social Genomics” and “Implications of Social Genomics for Social and Public Policy” positions, respectively.

Social Genomics: Faculty

Corinne D. Engelman

Credentials: Associate Professor, Population Health Sciences

Email: cengelman@wisc.edu

Research Interests

Aging and the Life Course, Impacts of Place on Aging Processes, and Understanding Alzheimer’s Disease

Jason Fletcher

Credentials: Professor, Public Affairs and Sociology

Email: jason.fletcher@wisc.edu

Research Interests

Aging and the Life Course, Biodemography, Determinants of Disparities of Aging Trajectories, Health Economics and Health Services Research, and Impacts of Place on Aging Processes

Hyunseung Kang

Credentials: Assistant Professor, Statistics

Email: hyunseung@stat.wisc.edu

Research interests

Biodemography, Health Economics and Health Services Research, and Understanding Alzheimer’s Disease

Philipp Koellinger

Credentials: Professor, Public Affairs

Email: koellinger@wisc.edu

Research Interests

Social Science Genetics, Neuroscience, and Behavioral, Labor, and Health Economics

 

James Li

Credentials: Assistant Professor, Psychology

Email: james.li@wisc.edu

Research Interests

Developmental Trajectories of Mental Illness, Neurodevelopmental Disorders (Autism and ADHD), and Gene-Environment Interactions

https://psych.wisc.edu/staff/li-james-j/

Qiongshi Lu

Credentials: Assistant Professor, Biostatistics & Medical Informatics

Email: qlu@biostat.wisc.edu

Research Interests

Biodemography

Lauren Schmitz

Credentials: Assistant Professor, Public Affairs

Email: llschmitz@wisc.edu

Presentation Video

On August 6, 2020, Prof. Schmitz participate in a panel at the Boston College Center for Retirement Research 2020 Retirement and Disability Research Consortium Annual Meeting. A link to the panel video is available here. Prof. Schmitz’s presentation begins at the 8:49 mark (and ends at the 19:42 mark).

Research Interests

Biodemography, Health Economics and Health Services Research

 

Sam Trejo

Credentials: Assistant Professor, Public Affairs and Sociology

Email: sam.trejo@wisc.edu

Research Interests

Biodemography, Impacts of Place on Aging Processes

Social Genomics: Postdocs and Students

Julia Carlson

Position title: Graduate Student, Population Health Sciences

Email: jncarlson2@wisc.edu

Jereome Choi

Position title: Graduate Student, Population Health Sciences

Email: choi267@wisc.edu

Joseph Clark

Position title: Postdoctoral Researcher

Email: jclark36@wisc.edu

Shiro Furuya

Position title: Graduate Student, Sociology

Email: furuya2@wisc.edu

Julia Goodwin

Position title: Graduate Student, Sociology

Email: jkgoodwin@wisc.edu

Quanfa “Frank” He

Position title: Graduate Student, Clinical Psychology

Email: qhe37@wisc.edu

Emily Hilton

Position title: Graduate Student, Clinical Psychology

Email: echilton@wisc.edu

Sherry Huhn

Position title: Research Administrator, Initiative in Social Genomics and CDHA

Email: shuhn@wisc.edu

Tianchang Li

Position title: Research Specialist

Email: tli289@wisc.edu

Jiacheng Miao

Position title: VISP Graduate Student, Statistics

Email: jmiao24@wisc.edu

Sarah Salas

Position title: Graduate Student, Sociology

Email: sssalas@wisc.edu

Annemarie Schweinert

Position title: Graduate Student, Economics

Email: schweinert@wisc.edu

Michael Topping

Position title: Graduate Student, Sociology

Email: mtopping@wisc.edu

Eva Vasiljevic

Position title: Graduate Student, Population Health Sciences

Email: vasiljevic@wisc.edu

Sheng Wang

Position title: Graduate Student, Statistics

Email: shengw@stat.wisc.edu

Yuchang Wu

Position title: Postdoctoral Researcher, Statistical Genetics

Email: ywu423@wisc.edu

Yuexuan Xu

Position title: Graduate Student, Population Health Sciences

Email: yuexuan.xu@wisc.edu

Zijie Zhao

Position title: Graduate Student, Biomedical Data Science

Email: zzhao232@wisc.edu

Boyan Zheng

Position title: Graduate Student, Sociology

Email: bzheng9@wisc.edu

Xiaoyuan (Ethan) Zhong

Position title: Graduate Student, Mathematics and Economics

Email: xzhong35@wisc.edu

Social Genomics: Selected Publications